Advertisement

Cross-Platform Networking API

Started by July 25, 2024 05:48 PM
3 comments, last by frob 1 month, 4 weeks ago

I am making a Pac-Man clone currently. I wish to add network play to the game. I am looking for an API that is robust and fast. Something I can grow with. What is a good API if I have some network experience with winsock?

Assuming you are using C or C++ you can use the preprocessor to program with winsock on Win and Berkeley sockets on any unixoid system (including Linux and MacOS). Use #ifdef, #define etc. Most of the sockets code is equal for Win and unixoid systems.

BTW In the book “Hands on network programming in C” you find source code that does this.

But perhaps you want to avoid the low-level code for network programming? Then there are several engines. That can be fast and robust, too.

Advertisement

I'd also recommend looking at Beej's guide to network programming.

More precisely this part - https://beej.us/guide/bgnet/html/split-wide/intro.html#windows​ - which describes differences between Windows and *nix sockets in his implementations. His whole book is quite good tbh.

My current blog on programming, linux and stuff - http://gameprogrammerdiary.blogspot.com

scruthut said:
Something I can grow with.

That point is the kicker. Raw sockets is great if all you need is simple connectivity. Not so great for modern features. And nothing to grow with unless you want to re-invent the wheel for everything.